Easter…and stuff

EASTER…

Happy Easter!  While we don’t celebrate the christian holidays as religious days, we do celebrate the secular parts. For Easter, that means the Easter Bunny, dying, hiding and finding eggs, wearing seersucker pants, and dinner with family.  I actually got to celebrate for 3 days in a row!

Easter #1:  At school on Friday we colored eggs and had an egg hunt.  I loved watching the little color pellets dissolve in the vinegar and using the ‘magic crayon’ on the eggs before dying them.  Since the egg hunt was at the end of the day Mummy and Daddy came too!  While all of the other kids found 1 or 2 eggs, I found SEVEN!  I am very observant!

Easter #2:  Saturday was a jam-packed day for me!!  I got up and went to gymnastics with Daddy (Mummy is too big to go anymore).  We brought home scones and coffee for Mummy as a sweet surprise.  While we were at gymnastics Mummy boiled a whole carton of eggs for coloring.  When we got home they were still cooling and I was very tired so I took a nap while the eggs continued to cool.  When I woke up, Mummy had lunch ready but I wanted to color eggs first so we did a hybrid lunch/coloring session.  I loved watching those pellets bubble and fizz as they dissolved.  I used that time to use the ‘magic crayon’ to color the eggs.  When the dye was ready I very gently dropped one egg into each cup and waited patiently for the eggs to be done.  I ate my sandwich while I waited.  They turned out great!!!

When lunch was finished and the eggs were all colored and drying I helped Mummy ‘make’ bunny cookies.  All I had to do was arrange them on a baking sheet, but it was still fun!  While they cooked, Daddy took me outside to ride bikes.  I am getting really good and am even scooting fast enough to do a little gliding!!  Just a little though as I’m still working on my bike balance.  I love it!!

After riding bikes and doing a little more playing outside we got ready to go get my haircut.  It had been 5 weeks and there was a little hair down by my ears and that drives Mummy bonkers.  She likes my hair nice and short and clean-cut.  I look so handsome with a fresh haircut!  When we got there, all of the little kid chair that are also taxis, airplanes, police cars and fire trucks were all takes…some with boys much too large to be still using them.  I hopped up in a big boy chair and got my haircut there…I did great!!  I got a purple sucker, held a Buzz Lightyear and watched a movie.  Fun!  When the haircut was all done Daddy asked me to put Buzz away back in the toy area and, with no tears or being asked twice, I did!!  Mummy and Daddy were so proud!!!

We then walked down to Rack Room Shoes and got me some much-needed new shoes.  I only had my one pair from Paris and they were certainly winter shoes.  My only other shoes were some cheap sandals Mummy found on sale but leave little red marks on my feet if I wear them all day.  Especially since I tend to get sand in my shoes at school, I wanted some sneakers.  I got some great boat shoes and a pair of nikes…all set for shoes for a good while!  I am now in a size EIGHT!  They are still a teeny bit too big, but not much and the sevens are too small.

Easter #3 (official Easter):  The Easter Bunny came!!!!  I got a big, brown stuffed rabbit, and a green Easter basket with purple grass, jellybeans, a rabbit sucker, a dark chocolate rabbit and a little chick that peeps when you hold him in your hand.  Easter is fun!!  I played at home all morning until nap time and took a nice, long nap.  After nap I got to wear my new seersucker pants and boat shoes, and we got in the car and went to Foo Foos house for dinner.  I got to see and play with Foo Foo and Aunt Dia.  They hid eggs for me all over and I found them ALL!  I got to practice passing out napkins for hor d’ourves and ate some deviled eggs.  When Mummy realized she had once again forgotten to get diapers for my diaper bad I took and walk with Daddy and Foo Foo to the store to get some.  I got to ride the bus!!!  It was awesome!!  I also got to sit on Aunt Dia’s scooter that was parked outside!

When we got back it was almost dinner time.  Foo Foo made a cool ‘bunny salad’ from half of a pear on a bed of lettuce (carrots for eats, half a cherry for a nose and a dollop of sour cream for the tail), a yummy, cheesy orzo casserole, steamed asparagus and rolls.  I ate a little of the salad, a whole role with butter but what I really devoured was asparagus!  I LOVE asparagus!!!  After dinner I was pretty tired so we went home and hopped into bed right away.

…AND STUFF:

During these several days of Easter I’ve been not feeling 100%.  I am cutting my 2 year molars which is quite unpleasant.  They make me just ever so slightly cranky during the day, but with a little Tylenol I’m pretty much OK.  I’m also very distracted during the days.  At night, however, they really bother me.  I’ll tell Mummy and Daddy “teeth hurt.  medicine?  brr cold teether?”  I never say any of this when I actually have some meds on board so they think I am pretty spot on with when they hurt.  My frozen teethers are really helping right now!  On bad nights I’ll wake up every time my medicine wears off and need more, plus snuggles.

In addition to my teething I also have a little cold and possible an ear infections (we’ll find our for sure in about an hour when we go to the Doctor).  Last night when I was up with my teeth I also said “ear hurts” while pointing to my right ear, which is new.  I’ve never said that before and nobody asked if my ear hurt.  I just said it.  Since I don’t often show pain other than not sleeping as well, which is already happening from my teeth, Mummy and Daddy took me seriously and we’re going to get checked.  If it is an ear infection, hopefully some antibiotics will help me feel better soon!

Update:  We went to the doctor and Thatcher was spot on and does indeed have an ear infection in his right ear.  Todd is getting his prescription right now and hopefully he’ll be feeling better soon!

Since I was not going to school in the morning, I got to have one of my favorite breakfasts: hot tea with honey and a scone!  Yum!

Breakfast of champions! 

Leave a Reply

