Christmas Traditions

I am actually stealing this from Laura’s blog…

Let me begin by prefacing that while I grew up Christian, I am not Christian anymore.  For Thatcher, and his little sibling to be, who will not be raised Christian, we will still celebrate Christmas but as a secular holiday only (it’s so commercialized anyway…).  Also, since we will be in France for the holiday, we are not decorating this year, but normally do.

  • Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? I do hot chocolate all year, but will have ONE half glass of eggnog per year.  It’s a tradition, but too thick and sweet for me.
  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Everything was always wrapped.  Mt sister and I always had gifts with different wrapping papers and on different sides of the tree.  For example, I mostly had green wrapping paper on the right side of the tree and Dia had red paper on the left.
  • Colored lights on tree/house or white? White!!
  • Do you hang mistletoe? Yes, it’s pretty
  • When do you put your decorations up? The weekend after Thanksgiving.  I consider the season “open” as soon as Santa appears on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  Traditionally, growing up, we got out tree the day after Thanksgiving and let it “fall out” over the next week and did the decorating the following weekend.
  • What is your favorite holiday dish? Easy scalloped potatoes – yum!  Or…pepermint ice cream with homemade chocolate sauce
  • Favorite holiday memory as a child? None come to mind…I am not a huge holiday fan, actually
  • When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I found the presents in the garage attic…not sure how old I was
  • Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Yes, and it was always new jammies to wear in the morning…for photos and all
  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree? Ornaments, white lights, and gold ribbon…though with kids we may start doing colored lights.  As a kid we had colored lights when we were little then made the switch to white lights in our teens.
  • Snow! Love it or dread it? Love it!
  • Can you ice skate? Yup, actually used to play ice hockey in high school.  I’m terrible on figure skates though!!
  • Do you remember your favorite gift? Probably some doll or another…a cabbage patch doll named Katie Suzette comes to mind, as does a beautiful Sasha doll I named Kimberly.  I also loved my first 10 speed bike.  It was blue.
  • What’s the most important thing about the holidays for you? seeing Thatcher happy!!
  • What is your favorite holiday dessert? cranberry cookies and ring around the cookie cookies
  • What is your favorite holiday tradition? I’m really not tied to any one tradition.  I am looking forward to making new ones with our family over the years…for starters, I’d like leaving the country to be one of them 🙂  Here are a few from growing up:
    • Making a truly ridiculous amount of spritz and hidden treasure cookies (I hate them both!)
    • Getting new PJs as our Christmas Eve gift…they were always matching
    • Being made to wait at the top of the stairs while our parents got the huge betamax video camera ready to catch our reactions on tape.  We could never, ever, ever, go downstairs without our parents going down first so they could get photos.
    • Doing stockings after breakfast.  They had the best stuff…like jewelry or a $100 bill!
    • Being forced to go sing Away in a Manger at some nativity every year – I loathed that!!
    • Going to the Ritz Cafe for dinner before going to the Wang Center to see the Boston Ballet’s Nutcracker every year with all of the family friends – I LOVED that
  • What tops your tree? Star…it was an angel growing up
  • Which do you prefer giving or receiving? Giving!  I actually don’t like getting gifts…I did as a kid, of course
  • Candy Canes: Yuck or Yum? yuck by themselves…yum in ice cream with chocolate sauce
  • Favorite Christmas show? Movie? A Wonderful Life (I used to hate this movie but love it now), Miracle on 34th St (the original one!!), A Christmas Story
  • Saddest Christmas song? No idea…they all kind of sound the same to me – fa la la la la…
  • What is your favorite Christmas song? I don’t really have one…not a huge fan of Christmas music
One Response to “Christmas Traditions”

  1. nancy Says:

    miracle on 34th street DEFINITELY has to be the original one!


Leave a Reply

