Adventures in Potty Training

After a few months of off and on potty training that mostly involved practicing sitting on the potty and an isolated incident when, at school, I went to the bathroom, pulled down my pants and diaper, sat on the potty and went pee pee, this was the first ‘official’ day.  When I woke up Mummy put me in a shirt, underpants and socks…no pants.  I was so adorable but Mummy didn’t want to take future embarrassing photos so you’ll have to use your imagination.  This was also the first morning the baby gate was moved to the laundry room, giving me direct access to the bathroom where my potty is.  mummy put a lock on the big potty so unfortunately I was not able to splash in it…not so unfortunate according to Mummy.

I played a little before breakfast, no accidents.  I had breakfast, no accidents.  Then we headed to the bathroom.  This was where I had my only pee pee accident of the day.  Of course it happened right next to the potty.  I got cleaned up (not hard when all you are wearing are underpants).  We played some more and I drank a little more.  I was not very thirsty today.  We went back into the bathroom and I got back on the potty.  I get an m&m everytime I sit on the potty – yum!  Mummy and I read my big boy potty book and talked about what happens on the potty, what we do after, how we now say bye-bye to diapers and how cool my big boy underpants are.  Fun!

Then…I went pee pee on my potty!!  We sang and clapped and cheered and got very excited!  Then we dumped my pee pee into the big potty and said bye-bye to it and flushed.  I got cleaned up and we went out to play some more.  I was in the kitchen when Mummy noticed a lump in my underpants…I had pooped.  Oops!  Thankfully it was only a ‘play doh poop’ so we didn’t have to throw away my underpants…which have cars on them and are awesome!!  It was only 8:30 am and those were my only two accidents ALL DAY!

I put on a pair of pull-ups for gymnastics class and again for naps.  Other than that, it was underpants all day!  I did not pee pee in the potty again though as I seemed to have done most of my pee pee in my gymnastics and nap pull-ups.  We’ll try again tomorrow and hopefully I’ll drink more so we can practice more.  From now on, the only time I will wear diapers will be for bedtime and I’ll only wear pull-ups for naps.  My teachers at school are all ready for me to come to school in underpants from now on…I have lots of extra ones there 🙂  Needless to say, we’ll be sticking close to home for a while until I get the hang of this whole potty thing.

Leave a Reply

