Week 40 (December 1-8): 9 months, 1st Ear Infection and Finger Foods

I am 9 months old – WOW!!  I am still a big boy and now weigh in at 23 lbs 13 oz and is 31 inches tall!!  That puts my weight in the 90th percentile and my height is still off the top end of the chart.  I look like a TWO year old!  I guess nobody can say a vegetarian diet doesn’t make a baby grow, LOL.  I am still a great eater and love my veggies, tofu, and beans.  Cheerios, macaroni, and cooked peas and carrots are my current favorite finger foods and I am currently very into the orange foods when it comes to the baby food veggies Mummy makes me…and I’m slightly tinted orange from all the beta carotene!  My favorite is a mix Mummy made that has: sweet potatoes, yams (yes, they are different), carrots, butternut squash, acorn squash, and pumpkin.  My favorite fruits are now the purples, including raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, and cherries (which are purple when all mixed together – and smell just like Play*Dough…or so Mummy says).  Last month I was into anything green for veggies – green beans, broccoli, spinach, asparagus, etc….and the pink and yellows for fruits – apples, pears, peaches, plums, etc.  I still like those, but they are not my favorites.  Mummy sure is glad I’m not a picky eater.  I eat pretty much anything…including one of my favorites, Tibetan and Nepalese food!!

Here is a video of me eating my favorite finger foods:

The only sour note of the doctor visit was the discovery that I have a pretty bad ear infection.  Yuk!  I didn’t do any crying, tugging at or messing with my ears, or any other sign that would let Mummy and Daddy know something was going on.  The night before my appointment, Mummy even cleaned my ears after my bath and I just giggles!  The doctor and Mummy said I should be in a lot of pain over an ear infection!!  Apparently I’ve got Mummy’s pain tolerance after all and I hear it’s not a good thing.  If Mummy and Daddy hadn’t had my appointment scheduled they never would have had reason to bring me in…would it have cleared up without the antibiotics I got prescribed?  I don’t know?  Ugggg.  The only thing that has been a little “off” lately was that I’ve been getting up for a bottle between 4 and 6 am (NOT typical!!).  Mummy wonders if the sucking made my ear feel better?  I’ll never tell, lol.   Mummy said they are going to have to be super vigilant about me.  I didn’t even cry for shots!!!  Well, maybe for about 5 seconds, but that was it, then I was giggly and happy again.  Mummy actually said she wished I was a little more fussy so she’d know if something was wrong.

With the antibiotics on board I started feeling better really quickly.  Mummy and Daddy also made sure to give me some motrin at night before bed now that they knew I was hurting.  I’m back to sleeping through the nights like the champion sleeper that I am!!  6 pm is bedtime and I get up around 7:30 am.  Mummy is going to bring me to the doctor to re-check my ears when I am done with my antibiotics just to be sure I’m all better.  I hope I don’t get any more ear infections or fevers for a very long time!!

Now that all of the holiday decorations are up, I love looking at them.  Mummy and daddy put a gate up so I can’t get to the tree.  Those ornaments and lights look like fun and delicious toys!! 

Here is a video of me trying to get to the tree:

Here are some photos from my week:

Leave a Reply

