Week 21 (July 21-28): Teething, Oatmeal Sensitivity, and More Scratches…plus my 4 Month Photo Shoot!

I started off this week not feeling so hot.  I was spitting up a lot, not as hungry as usual, had a very slight fever and my gums were killing me.  Mummy has been able to feel a tooth under my gums for a few weeks now.  I finally like the frozen teethers and chomp down on them for some teething relief.  Mummy also gives me baby orajel, which I hate, but it does seem to help.  Whenever I don’t feel 100% I have trouble falling asleep for naps (night time if just fine!) and need Mummy to snuggle me until I fall asleep.  Mummy doesn’t mind this one bit (though she hates that it is because I don’t feel good)!

So, Mummy finally figured out why I wasn’t feeling good and was spitting up like a mad man.  She had tried oatmeal with me again (did not like it the first time).  I still hated it and made horrible faces and gagging noises.  When she cleaned it off my face, after 4-5 bites, there was a red rash.  It went away pretty quickly, but an hour later I started to spew like a fountain and continued to spew for 24 hours.  The oatmeal has been put away!

The day before my 4 month photos, I have again scratched the heck out of my face.  I have learned to suck my thumb but have not yet figured out what to do with the rest of my fingers.  Mummy keeps my nails very short, but apparently they are still sharp.  She is now using a file foam block that seems to get my nails a lot smoother.  Hopefully I won’t scratch myself anymore, otherwise, Mummy says she will put me to bed in shirts with sleeves that cover up my hands.  Neither of us want that since I use my hands as pacifiers to both fall asleep and get back to sleep.

See all the scratched under my right eye…it’s shiny because Mummy put neosporin on it
I had my four month photo shoot this week!  It’s a bit late and I am actually closer to 5 months.  I did great and Mummy and Daddy can’t wait to see the photos!!  The next one is 8 months and we’ll do holiday photos then too.  Hopefully there won’t be any more face scratches!!  Here are some photos me me doing tummy time after my photo shoot.  You can also see how I let Mummy know that tummy time is OVER!
This week I went to my first French class!  Daddy had two classes and some fee time in between them.  Mummy brought me down to visit and get a late lunch between his classes.  We got there early and I got to sit in on the last 30 min of the class.  Everyone loved me and thought I was tres mignon (very cute!)!  After class we went to a French restaurant and everyone loved me there too…people pretty much love me everywhere I go!!
This week I had my first all out, screaming, crying, inconsolable, fuss fest!  I was over tired, teething, hungry, and MAD!!  While it lasted about 10 min, Mummy and Daddy say it felt like a lot longer.  Daddy finally got me calmed down while Mummy drew my bath, then Mummy gave me a bath and bottle and put me to bed a few minutes past 6pm!  I slept until 7:30 am and felt much better.  This teething thing is no fun!!
Leave a Reply

